Mindy H. McQueen, Ventura DUI Lawyer

Practice limited exclusively to DUI defense and DMV hearings.

Mindy is the DUI attorney other defense lawyers turn to for help.

She has helped thousands of people, including other Ventura defense attorneys, and she can help you too.

Mindy H. McQueen has been practicing criminal law both as a prosecutor and a defense attorney for over 23 years. She has handled more than 75 jury trials with a 95% success rate, and has taught police officers, police academy trainees, prosecutors and other DUI defense attorneys. Mindy has also been trained and certified to conduct standardized drunk driving field sobriety tests according to the specifications laid out by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA).

Mindy enjoys a superior reputation as an aggressive and successful Ventura DUI Lawyer and receives many DUI referrals from other attorneys and past and current clients.

Exclusively DUI and DMV

Her practice is based in Ventura County, and is limited to DUI defense and DMV issues, including negligent operator hearings, and has represented other defense attorneys, doctors, bankers, nurses and people from all walks of life.

Defective breathalyzers resulted in hundreds of DUI cases being dismissed. Attorney Mindy McQueen, who specializes in DUI cases, said Breathalyzer devices have never been infallible. She said the technology to make the devices faster, smaller and more economical has resulted in manufacturer design flaws. “These machines have never been infallible and that’s something that defense attorneys have tried to point out for years,” said McQueen, a member of the California DUI Attorneys Association. » Read more

A DUI arrest does not mean you are guilty.

Contrary to popular opinion, police officers make mistakes. Moreover, the hyper-technical laws surrounding the regulation of driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI) are rife with ambiguities. You owe it to yourself to become educated about what to expect and what to do about it. Much depends on whether you are actually convicted of drunk driving, and actually there are numerous defenses to a DUI charge.

Can I still be in trouble if my BAC is below the legal limit?

Possibly, it is also unlawful to drive with your normal faculties impaired (by alcohol and/or drugs). Normal faculties include the ability to walk, talk, judge distances, drive an automobile, make judgments, act in emergencies, and so on.

ALERT: New California law adversely affects everyone currently on probation for DUI! You could lose your license for another full year if you drive with a BAC of 0.01 or more!

What about my license?

A typical DUI arrest results in two separate legal proceedings: One against the person (aka “the criminal case”) and one against the person’s privilege to drive in the state of California. Neither one bears much relation to the other. Even if the criminal case gets reduced or dismissed, you may still have to battle the DMV in order to keep your license. Similarly a win at the DMV hearing has no bearing on the outcome of your criminal case.

If you have a California license, the officer will have seized it and issued you a temporary license (the pink sheet). Although this license is valid for 30 days from your arrest, you only have 10 days to request a DMV hearing and a stay on the automatic suspension of your license (that will otherwise begin on the 31st day after the arrest.)

Why should I see an attorney about my DUI?

A DUI is a felony or misdemeanor, not just automatically traffic ticket infraction. If you are convicted of DUI, there are mandatory legal penalties. Your license will be suspended by the DMV unless you fight, and if you are convicted on the DUI charge, the consequences for a first offense can include formal probation; additional jail time or work release (similar to community work service) actual jail time; heavy fines; and driving restrictions. You will have to take a DUI class, and your auto insurance rates will go up. If you hold a professional license, the conviction must usually be reported to the licensing agency. In short, you have a lot to lose. So it makes good sense to see if you can defend yourself against these charges.

What else will happen to me?

Please check the penalty chart in our DUI newsletter (see our home page) for detailed information on the penalties in Ventura County. Aside from the penalties listed, your insurance company may discontinue its coverage or assign you to a high-risk category resulting in a substantial increase in your premiums.

Disclaimer: The DUI, drunk driving, suspended license, DUI defense, DMV hearing, BAC testing, field sobriety testing, or other Ventura county DUI defense legal information presented at this site should not be construed to be formal legal advice, nor the formation of a lawyer or attorney client relationship. Any DUI results set forth herein are based solely upon the facts of that particular case and do not represent a promise or guarantee. Please contact Mindy H. McQueen for a consultation on your particular matter. This web site is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the State of California.

Copyright © 2005-2010 Law Offices of Mindy H. McQueen. All Rights Reserved. Serving the Ventura communities of Camarillo, Ojai, Thousand Oaks, Newberry Park, Westlake Village, Agoura Hills, Calabasas, Simi Valley, Oxnard, Ventura, Pt. Hueneme, Pt. Mugu, Santa Paula, Moorpark, Fillmore, and Somis.